Home » News » Three more countries ratify the Nagoya Protocol

Three more countries ratify the Nagoya Protocol

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) says Albania, Botswana and the Federated States of Micronesia have become the 13th, 14th and 15th countries to ratify the Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits Arising from their Utilization to the Convention on Biological Diversity.

Within the framework of the Convention on Biological Diversity, the Nagoya Protocol promotes and safeguards the fair and equitable sharing of benefits arising from the utilization of genetic resources by providing greater legal certainty and transparency for both providers and users of genetic resources. On significant innovation of the Nagoya Protocol is the specific obligations to support compliance with domestic legislation or regulatory requirements of the Party providing genetic resources and contractual obligations reflected in mutually agreed terms.

Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, India, Jordan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Mauritius, Mexico, Panama, Rwanda and the Seychelles are the only other countries that have ratified the ground-breaking treaty. See UNEP’s full press release here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: